The Street Dogs of Guanajuato City

You can’t walk the streets of Guanajuato without seeing the street dogs. They come in many sizes and colors. They tend to be a bit raggedy and dirty. They typically run past, ignoring whistles and attempts to get their attention, unless you have a fragrant food offering. Amazingly, I did not witness any altercations between them, despite many of them being unneutered males.

The first dog I “met” followed Mom and me after we purchased a roast chicken. He drooled as he walked behind us, sniffing the bag. We also had bananas, my dog’s favorite treat. At one point, we stopped and offered him a piece of banana. This dog recoiled in disgust. Over a few weeks, I got to know this dog better. I called him Favo, because he is mi perro favorito (my favorite dog). The first time I was able to pet him was an afternoon when I sat on a bench near him. He was startled and “jumped,” but didn’t leave. A few minutes later, I was able to pet him and gave him a thorough scratching. I don’t think most of these street dogs ever receive human touch. The last picture was after three weeks. I called him and he came, happy to get some more attention. I got “the lean” as he pressed against my leg during his petting.

These two are called “Black” and “Café” according to a man who spoke to us in Spanish. The two dogs are always together. One day I saw Café cross a busy street first. Black was distracted, missed the opening, and had to wait for cars to pass. Café barked at him to hurry!

This little guy was hoping for a treat from the bakery, but he soon gave up and left.

I don’t know if this scruffy pooch is a street dog or not. He sure likes “guarding” this shop.

When the dogs get tired, they rest where they can. Don’t worry, the dog on the right was fine.

Leave a comment